Sevilla’s Greener Grass

It’s Friday, and I run through a cloudy-grey Knole Park feeling sluggish. So I cheer myself along by composing a ridiculous poem about the stye in my left eye. Never to be reproduced outside my head, the “poem” struggles to rhyme spectacles with anything, but succeeds in carrying me to a fine cup of coffee.

Sevilla tapas, Sevilla, Spain, España, Andalucia, food, drink, England, Kent, sherry, Jerez, flamenco, churros, coffee, travel, travelogue, travel blog, writing, wanderlust, travel bug, kids, family travel, home, wine, Shawn Hennessey, we love tapas, coffee

(By the way: for all you clever rhyming people out there – ventricles and tentacles just don’t work with the subject matter).

As I sit cradling my hot brew, my phone pings a photo bringing blinding sunshine from Sevilla airport. My poor left eye blinks back a tear. My husband has landed – lucky thing.

Sevilla tapas, Sevilla, Spain, España, Andalucia, food, drink, England, Kent, sherry, Jerez, flamenco, churros, coffee, travel, travelogue, travel blog, writing, wanderlust, travel bug, kids, family travel, home, wine, Shawn Hennessey, we love tapas

I drain the last dregs of coffee, then trudge home, flecks of mud streaking my legs.

Ping. Another photo ushers in the elegance of sun-drenched Plaza del Triunfo.

Sevilla tapas, Sevilla, Spain, España, Andalucia, food, drink, England, Kent, sherry, Jerez, flamenco, churros, coffee, travel, travelogue, travel blog, writing, wanderlust, travel bug, kids, family travel, home, wine, Shawn Hennessey, we love tapas

At home I attack the laundry pile, stare at the collective mess of my kids’ rooms, and peer in the mirror to see my stye growing bigger.

Ping. Ping. Ping.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I pause to reflect on my own photos taken today – Knole Park may not be as bright as Sevilla, but it has leaf-strewn hills and textured tufts of grass …

Sevilla tapas, Sevilla, Spain, España, Andalucia, food, drink, England, Kent, sherry, Jerez, flamenco, churros, coffee, travel, travelogue, travel blog, writing, wanderlust, travel bug, kids, family travel, home, wine, Shawn Hennessey, we love tapas

… a cool look-out post called Sniper’s Stump and fantastically fingered trees …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Somehow the whole weekend stretches into a probing exercise of: is the grass always greener

Sevilla has trees of oranges, we have a newly purple hyacinth.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sevilla has segway tours, we have trampolining kids.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Aren’t our deer a match for Sevilla’s horse-drawn carriages?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And how happily we snack on cheesy chorizo baked beans (Spanish-enhanced comfort food) instead of churros.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Although we don’t have the treat of Shawn Hennessey’s extra special Sherry & Tapas Tour …

Sevilla tapas, Sevilla, Spain, España, Andalucia, food, drink, England, Kent, sherry, Jerez, flamenco, churros, coffee, travel, travelogue, travel blog, writing, wanderlust, travel bug, kids, family travel, home, wine, Shawn Hennessey, we love tapas, flamenco
Enter a caption

… the Queen of Tapas messages me later to say that she and my husband have been plotting my very own solo Sevilla jaunt  for the purposes of research, of course – I’d love to see how churros are made,  hear the quick finger snapping of flamenco, and further practise my dubious Spanish skills.

As to whether the grass is always greener? This is not an original insight: everyday life is everyday life wherever you are (kids are kids, mess is mess, we all laugh and/or cry, and people suffer from styes in Spain too).

But an escape is always welcome. And not only do I seem to have bagged a break in Sevilla for myself, the fun I’ve had with this weekend’s vicarious travel has also saved you the bother of reading an appalling poem about a sore left eye (and myself the embarrassment). We should probably all count ourselves very lucky.

 

3 thoughts on “Sevilla’s Greener Grass

  1. I know what it’s like to yearn for Southern Europe when you live in a northern country (I myself in Holland). However, having lived 17 years in sunlit places (Israel and Italy) I can confirm that also there, daily life is daily life, kids are kids and a mess is a mess!
    Yours,
    Naomi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

