Not a Treeo

This elegant isolation of trees centres my wavering resolve.  I see it just ahead before the path veers down and the next upward incline hides it from view. Down I run, then my steps slow as the hill rises, and I pass dawdling deer busily grazing.

Keep going: at the top are the trees.

IMG_2148

Head facing down as I go up, I picture the trees shaped as if in a trio.

Treeo – I smile through gritted teeth at my hard-won pun.

The image of this treeo has given my pace purpose over and over again, but as the evidence above shows, I haven’t repaid the debt with true focus on the trees. Today, unaccustomed attentiveness reveals ten independently standing trees. Ha – so my pun is now defunct.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Either I’ve been lost in thought whilst running (creating inapt puns), or I’m simply (and inexcusably) severely lacking in useful observational skills. The latter argument holds more sway, especially given the number of times I’ve given into temptation and stopped to photograph this familiar, fixed point of the former treeo with its ever-changing skies.

IMG_6537I run on, and new warmth from late February’s more generously angled sun tells me not to worry about how carefully I scrutinise and accurately tally up a cluster of trees … Springtime seems to be tucked just around the corner – I hear woodpeckers making themselves known with their quickly repetitive hammering.

Daydreams overtake me as I jog along …  Spring … Easter … the potential to travel … we have a few spare days during the school holidays – maybe a keenly priced  The Hat, Madrid style experience might be just the ticket. As long as I can find an air or train fare to match.

Happy that the early morning chill is fading fast, I slow to walk and take more pictures. I even remove my gloves, and my inner child plays with a splash of colour in this end of winter scene.


Afterwood

Basking in the (almost) Spring sunshine today, I wondered if the group of trees once known (to me) as a treeo can more accurately be described as a copse? From what I read here, a blog post that goes into lovely detail about forest and woodland terminology in English, but with dips into other languages, perhaps a grove is a more appropriate term…?

A few more clicks lead from the post to the author of the site, Gabriel Hemery. And so I learn a new word – Silvology: the study of forests and woods and their ecology (Gabriel is a silvologist). Gabriel’s blog post brims with an evident love of words, and he celebrates the loose definitions given to groups of trees … I wonder – could he be persuaded to breathe new life into the word treeo … ?


By the way

In case you are also seeking inspiration for the Easter break, today’s travel musings led me to this article on 10 of the smartest hostels in Europe. All very tempting (The Hat, Madrid features) but my eye is on Ecomama in Amsterdam. Although the slow travel vibe of Slo-living in gastronomic Lyon is also very appealing. Let me know what you think, and I’ll be sure to keep you posted 😉

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Not a Treeo

  1. From the Latin silva, meaning woodland or forest. Thus silviculture, sylvanian and prob. Pennsylvania?
    Personally, I’ve always liked the sound of “a stand” of trees but I’m thinking too that he/she who planted your treeo will be looking down & smiling warmly at your appreciation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

